Global contemporary art events and news observed from New York City. Suggestion? Email us.


Home » AO Breaking News: Artists Announced for 2010 Whitney Biennial in New York

AO Breaking News: Artists Announced for 2010 Whitney Biennial in New York

December 11th, 2009


Curators Francesco Bonami and Gary Carrion-Murayari announce the artist list for the Whitney Biennial, 2010 – video by Pierce Jackson via Whitney.org

Today the Whitney Museum of American Art announced the list of fifty-five artists who will participate in the upcoming Whitney Biennial, 2010, which is to take over the Museum from February 25 through May 30 2010. The Biennial is the Whitney’s signature panoramic survey of the latest in American art that blends well established artists together with a predominance of emerging artists from all over the country. This is the 75th in the ongoing series of Biennials and Annuals presented by the Whitney since 1932.  Traditionally the Whitney Biennial seeks to reflect the way in which art is shaped by the particular historical moment in which it was created and so in 2010 the curators, Francesco Bonami and Gary Carrion-Murayari, have told us to expect works reflecting diverse responses to the anxiety and optimism of the past two years.

More text, related links and a full list of participating artists after the jump…..

2010 does not privilege any one medium or aesthetic style – works range from film and video to photography, painting, sculpture, drawing, installation, performance, and architecture. Performances and events will take place at the Museum on Friday evenings throughout the course of the show – these will take place in the Lower Gallery as well in the Lobby Gallery where Martin Kersels is creating a sculptural installation that also functions as a stage for curatorial programs involving artists, writers, musicians, choreographers and DJs.

The list of artists exhibiting at the Whitney Biennial 2010:
David Adamo, Richard Aldrich, Michael Asher, Tauba Auerbach, Nina Berman, Huma Bhabha, Josh Brand, The Bruce High Quality Foundation, James Casebere, Edgar Cleijne and Ellen Gallagher, Dawn Clements, George Condo, Sarah Crowne, Verne Dawson, Julia Fish, Roland Flexner, Suzan Frecon, Maureen Gallace, Theaster Gates, Kate Gilmore, Hannah Greely, Jesse Aron Green, Robert Grosvenor, Sharon Hayes, Thomas Houseago, Alex Hubbard, Jessica Jackson Hutchins, Jeffrey Inaba, Martin Kersels, Jim Lutes, Babette Mangolte, Curtis Mann, Ari Marcopoulos, Daniel McDonald, Josephine Meckseper, Rashaad Newsome, Kelly Nipper, Lorraine O’Grady, R.H. Quaytman, Charles Ray, Emily Roysdon, Aki Sasamoto, Aurel Schmidt, Scott Short, Stephanie Sinclair, Ania Soliman, Storm Tharp, Tam Tran, Kerry Tribe, Piotr Uklanski, Lesley Vance, Marianne Vitale, Erika Vogt, Pae White, Robert Williams

Eleven of the artists have shown in past Whitney Biennials, including James Casebere and George Condo in the 1980s and Robert Grosvenor in the 1960s and 70s. Charles Ray exhibited at the Biennial several times in the 1980s and 90s and also had a solo retrospective at the Whitney in 1998 – on this occasion he will depart from his previous work with an installation.

There are also many newcomers to the show – Aki Sasamoto, a young Japanese-born artist who lives in Brooklyn, is creating an installation that will include large and small sculptures, sound, and a series of performances that will take place throughout the run of the Biennial. Nina Berman, a photojournalist and author of the book Purple Hearts: Back from Iraq, a collection of portraits and interviews with twenty veterans of the Iraq War, is a member of the photo collective NOOR, based in Amsterdam; Berman’s works to be featured in the Biennial are photographs depicting the life of a returning veteran.

Related Links:
2010: Whitney Biennial [Exhibition Homepage]
Reality Leaves a Fingerprint on the Biennial [NY Times]
2010 Whitney Biennial Artists Announced [WNYC]

Artist Websites:
Ari Marcopoulos – www.exfed.blogspot.com
Curtis Mann – www.curtismann.com
Stephanie Sinclair – www.stephaniesinclair.com
Rob Williams – www.robtwilliamsstudio.com
Julia Fish – www.juliafish.com
Kerry Tribe – www.kerrytribe.com
Nina Berman – www.ninaberman.com
Marianne Vitale – www.mariannevitale.com
Roland Flexner – www.rolandflexner.com
Lorraine O’Grady – www.lorraineogrady.com
Tauba Auerbach – www.taubaauerbach.com
The Bruce High Quality Foundation – www.thebrucehighqualityfoundation.com and http://bhqfu.org
Kate Gilmore – www.kategilmore.com
James Bere – www.jamescasebere.net
Jesse Green – www.jessearongreen.com
Theaster Gates – www.theastergates.com/home.html
Sharon Hayes – www.shaze.info
Jeffrey Inaba – www.inabaprojects.com
Babette Mangolte – www.babettemangolte.com
Aki Sasamoto – www.culturepush.org
Emily Roysdon – www.emilyroysdon.com
Rashaad Newsome – www.rashaadnewsome.com
Kelly Nipper – www.kellynipper.net

2 Responses to “AO Breaking News: Artists Announced for 2010 Whitney Biennial in New York”

  1. 12.12.2009Richard Wright wins the 2009 Turner Prize | aaaaarte | Revista crítica de arte Says:

    [...] edition of the Whitney Biennial NYT -Artist list for the Whitney Biennial, 2010 AO -Los Angeles artists to represent at 2010 Whitney Biennial [...]

  2. Aki Sasamoto | 2010 Whitney Biennial | Spoon & Tamago Says:

    [...] via art observed [...]

Leave a Reply